Disability Compliance Officer and Coordinators

The people listed below are available to provide you with information about disability accommodations and access at the university. The ADA Compliance Officer is responsible for ensuring that the university has appropriate procedures in place for receiving disability-related complaints and grievances and conducting investigations. When appropriate, the ADA Compliance Officer may make recommendations for resolution of disputes and is responsible for ensuring that UC Santa Cruz complies with disability-related UC policies and with state and federal disability laws.

ADA Compliance Officer 

Isabel Dees
Interim Associate Vice Chancellor, Equity and Equal Protection

Phone: 831-459-2462
E-Mail: idees@ucsc.edu 

Campus ADA Coordinator (including public access for visitors and guests)

William (Bill) Kidder
Special Assistant, ADA and Whistleblower Compliance
Phone: 831-459-2295
E-Mail: wkidder@ucsc.edu

ADA Program Access Coordinator (student accommodations related to education access)

Richard Gubash
Disability Resource Center
Phone: 831-459-2089, 831-459-4806 (TDD)
E-Mail: rgubash@ucsc.edu

IT Accessibility Coordinator (websites and other Information Technology)

Jim Phillips
Director, Learning Technologies
Phone: 831-459-2410
E-Mail: phillips@ucsc.edu

Disability Management Coordinator (for accommodations related to employment)

Kelly Roberts
Phone: 831-459-4602
E-Mail: roberts@ucsc.edu

 ADA Facilities Access Coordinator

Felix Ang
Director of Architectural Services
Phone:  831-459-3850
E-mail:  felix@ucsc.edu
 

To discuss a concern or file a complaint regarding employment-related disability discrimination, or failure to provide reasonable accommodation:

Sonje Dayries
Associate Director for Equal Employment Opportunity
Office for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Phone: 831-459-2686
E-Mail: sdayries@ucsc.edu

To file a student grievance related to disability discrimination or accommodation:

Conduct and Community Standards
Phone: 831-459-1738

E-mail: conduct@ucsc.edu

Last updated:  July 31, 2019